Paper

I used to draw every day. Random elaborate doodles, in full magic marker colour.

Sometimes I’d cut pictures out of magazines, glue them on a sheet of A3, and then draw things around them.

I used mostly felt markers, but occasionally spray paint, oil paints and acrylics.

All this required a steady supply of paper. Being a teenager with no income, I couldn’t afford art paper or pads of cartridge paper very often.

However, my dad supplied the house with reams of free paper.

I soon took this for granted but, looking back, this was a real blessing.

It seemed the building he worked in had an endless supply of scrap paper. And it was high quality art paper too. Waste from a printer or art studio? I never thought to ask.

But in those pre-computer days, with no internet, and TV only had two channels and was only on in the evening for a few hours, we had to make our own entertainment.

If I wanted to make a paper sign, I had to hand draw each letter. There was no option to type it on a computer and print it out with perfect fonts and endless typefaces.

Life was slower back then, and I think we were better off because things took time.

When my friends and I had a game of cricket in the summer, I brought along my dad’s black and white Polaroid camera. I took some photos of the game and of some girls who showed up near the end – ‘the crowd’.

After the game, we walked home hot and slightly sunburnt, and I sat in our front room and made a little book about the game.

I created some pages with scissors and a ruler. I pasted the photos onto the pages and wrote a short handwritten caption for each one.

I designed a full colour front cover, carefully drawing a particular typeface I’d seen on a cereal box.

I stapled it all together and showed it to my friends the next day.

I was the artistic one of the group I guess. I kept that little book of memories of one summer afternoon for years, but sadly I didn’t value it, and it got lost somewhere down the line.

Some years back, I bought a couple of art pads and a set of markers. I did some drawings. But I never really got back into it.

The digital age has spoiled my creativity in a way. Yes, it’s made new expressions possible but it’s all trapped in the clean and crisp digital framework of the medium.

Sometimes I want to colour outside the lines on purpose.

Sometimes I want to badly hand-draw a typeface.

Sometimes I’d like the limitations of an old Polaroid camera.

But I wonder if I just secretly miss my dad, coming home with bags of randomly sized paper.

There’s something about touching the past that brings healing.

It’s the analogue, hand-drawn, glued on, stapled, cut to size with scissors nature of it all.

I guess the blank screen is the new ‘clean sheet’ of paper.

But something is drawing me back… no pun intended.

Sometimes I feel a pull, calling for my attention. Like the tug of a kite on a string, on a windy day. In those times when I feel the pull, I find it’s usually a call to explore something.

Perhaps the call of our creativity is drowned out rather than enabled by modern life.

Thinking back, I don’t remember my dad being artistic. But he certainly enabled the rest of us to be, with his seemingly endless supplies of paper.

Thanks Dad.

Leave a comment